Search our Site

Abbotsford Pilots Win 2012 Cyclone Taylor Cup

The Abbotsford Pilots won the BC Hockey Junior B Hockey League Championship Cyclone Taylor Cup this past weekend. The annual tournament was held in Abbotsford, BC at the MSA Arena from April 12-15, 2012. The Pilots will now go on to represent BC at the Western Canadian Junior B Championship Keystone Cup in Saskatoon, SK from April 19-22, 2012.

The host Pilots defeated the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL) champion Victoria Cougars in a close gold medal match up that ended with the Pilots coming out on top 3-2 in double overtime. Earlier in the tournament, the Pilots and Cougars faced off in round robin play with the Cougars defeating the Pilots 3-2.

The gold medal match up saw the Cougars heading into the third period with a 2-1 lead over the Pilots before Matthew Genovese (Port Coquitlam, BC) tied it up with an unassisted goal at 18:50. The two teams continued to put on quite a show, as the first overtime did not determine a winner. Four minutes and seventeen seconds into the second overtime, Pilots’ Garrett Lynum (Surrey, BC) found the back of the net to secure the championship for the Pilots on home ice.

The Pilots will head to Saskatoon, SK this week where they face off against the top Junior B teams in Western Canada for the Keystone Cup title. The following teams will be vying for the Cup:

• Abbotsford Pilots – BC Representative
• Arborg Ice Dawgs – Manitoba Representative
• Thunder Bay Northern Hawks – Ontario Representative
• Whitecourt Wolverines – Alberta Representative
• Traveland RV Storm – Saskatchewan Representative
• Saskatoon Royals – Host Team

For a full schedule of events and more information on the Keystone Cup please visit the championship’s website at www.keystonecup.ca.

In 2011, the Peninsula Panthers won the Cyclone Taylor Cup title and went on to represent BC at the Keystone Cup, but came up short. In 2009 and 2010, the BC representative won back-to-back Keystone Cups with the Richmond Sockeyes winning in 2009 and the Revelstoke Grizzlies in 2010.

For more information on the Cyclone Taylor Cup, please visit the championship’s website, www.cyclonetaylorcup.ca.

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at www.bchockey.net or email info@bchockey.net.

Abbotsford Pilots Junior Hockey Club
Office: 34816 Orchard Drive, Abbotsford, BC, V3B 2B4
Arena: 2323 Emerson Street, Abbotsford, BC, V2T 3J3
Phone: 604.853.5258 | Email: abbotsfordpilots@shaw.ca

BC-Hockey-Logo-transparent-background.png logo.png VIJHLLogo.png BCHL.png BCIHL.pnghumboldt-strong-round.pngRN30.png1531748924300.png